Talon Shumway record a reception during BYU’s overtime win over Tennessee in Knoxville on Sept. 7. (BYU Photo)

BYU senior wide receiver Talon Shumway has been named a semifinalist for the 2019 William V. Campbell trophy by the National Football Foundation, according to a press release written by football sports information director Kenny Cox.

The Campbell Trophy is awarded to one football student-athlete each year who shows proficiency in both scholarly and athletic endeavors.

There are 185 semifinalists, chosen from nominations sent in by universities. Each university is limited to one nominee. Nominees must have a GPA of at least 3.2, be a starting player on their team, or a significant contributor, and demonstrate strong citizenship and leadership skills. They also must be in their last year of eligibility for the team.

Talon Shumway breaks a tackle while on his way to the endzone. Shumway was recently named a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell trophy. (BYU Photo)

The exercise science major has had an impressive impact on BYU football over the years, with an overall total of 57 receptions, 713 yards and four touchdowns. This year, he contributed in the first four games of the season with seven receptions, 70 yards and one touchdown.

On Oct. 30, 12-14 finalists will be announced, and each will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2019 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. On Dec. 10, the finalists will attend the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York City. One member of the class will receive the Campbell Trophy award and a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship.

Shumway would not be the first BYU football player to receive the award; there have been five BYU football NFF national Scholar-Athletes. One of them is Shumway’s former teammate Taysom Hill, who won the award in 2016. The other four were Matt Bauman (2009), Jared Lee (2000), Steve Young (1983) and Stephen Miller (1976).

The NFF Awards Committee, which chooses the finalists, is made up of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email