Politics 101 — Utah’s state government


State governments often don’t get as much hype as the national government. But if you have problems with the way things are run in Provo, the state legislators are the people you should know about. Fun fact: six out of nine of these prominent Utah state politicians are BYU grads.

Governor Gary R. Herbert, R: Utah’s 17th governor, Herbert took the Oath of Office in 2009. His main focus is to strengthen Utah’s economy by improving education, energy, jobs and the ability of the state to solve its own problems.

Senator Curtis S. Bramble, R-Utah, Wasatch: Bramble is in his third term with the Utah State Legislature, making him one of nine senior senators who have served more than two terms. He represents Provo and surrounding areas.

Representative Dean Sanpei, R-Utah: Sanpei is in his second term with the Utah State House of Representatives. He is the House Rules Committee chair and representative of Provo and surrounding areas.

Provo Mayor John Curtis, R: Curtis is serving in his second term as mayor of Provo City. A social media guru, he is known for keeping up with Provo’s citizens through Twitter, Facebook, email and a personal blog.

Attorney General Sean D. Reyes, R: Reyes was appointed by Gov. Herbert last year after the resignation of John Swallow. Reyes is a strong advocate for minorities.

Senator Wayne L. Niederhauser, R-Salt Lake: Niederhauser has been the Senate president since 2012. He is currently in his second term with the Utah State Senate.

Representative Rebecca D. Lockhart, R-Utah: Lockhart was elected Speaker of the House in 2011, making her the first female elected to lead either chamber of Utah’s Legislature.

Senator Gene Davis, D-Salt LakeDavis is the minority leader of the Senate. The Senate is currently split 24 to five.

Representative Jennifer M. Seelig, D-Salt Lake: Seelig is the minority leader in the House. The House is currently split 61 to 14.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email