7 new LDS temples announced



During the afternoon session the April 2018 General Conference, seven new temples were announced, bringing the number of temples announced or under construction to 30. (Claudio Falanga)

At the end of an already historic General Conference weekend, President Russell M. Nelson announced seven new temples to be built.

The locations announced are Salta, Argentina; Bengaluru, India; Managua Nicaragua; Cagayan de Oro, Philippines; Layton, Utah; Richmond, Virginia; and “a major city yet to be determined in Russia.”

These seven new temples bring the total number of temples operating and under construction to 189. These will be the first temples built in India, Nicaragua, Russia and the state of Virginia.

“We want to bring temples closer to the expanding membership of the Church,” President Nelson said. “My dear brothers and sisters, construction of these temples may not change your life, but your time in the temple surely will. In that spirit, I bless you to identify those things you can set aside so you can spend more time in the temple. I bless you with greater harmony and love in your homes and a deeper desire to care for your eternal family relationships. I bless you with increased faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and a greater ability to follow Him as His true disciples.”

Video: members react to temples announcement

[vc_video link=”https://youtu.be/x7zdi0I0h8I”]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email