Childs named a top 10 candidate for 2020 Karl Malone Award


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame named BYU senior forward Yoeli Childs as one of the 10 current candidates for the 2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.

This award is named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer Karl Malone — a two-time NBA Most Valuable Player. This annual award recognizes the top power forwards in NCAA Division I men’s college basketball.

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

“The young men in this top ten list should be extremely proud and motivated as they continue their efforts this season,” said President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame John L. Doleva. “Karl Malone was an exemplary player who brought his best every game and we have been pleased to see a similar effort from these student athletes. It’s a joy to see the passion Mr. Malone has for selecting the athletes who win this esteemed annual award.”

Childs averages 21.9 points, 8.7 rebounds and 1.1 blocks per game while shooting 61% from the field and 57% percent from 3-point range so far this season.

The 6-foot-8 senior is a two-time All-WCC First Team honoree. In the 13 games played this year, Childs posted 20 or more points eight times, while finishing four of those games with double-doubles.

The South Jordan, Utah, native is currently No. 8 in scoring and No. 2 in rebounding in BYU history. Childs has put up a season high of scoring with 32 points in a win over San Francisco and a season high of 14 rebounds in a big Cougar victory over UNLV.

The Cougars are 11-2 with senior Childs in the line-up, losing the two games by a combined score of eight points. Childs has raised his field goal percentage by 10.7% this year from last year.

Voting for BYU Yoeli Childs as the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will go live Friday, Feb. 7 via

In March, the top five finalists will be selected and presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Karl Malone Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Zion Williamson, Duke (2019); Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017); Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016); and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates*

Zeke Nnaji, Arizona

Yoeli Childs, BYU

Tyler Bey, Colorado

Obi Toppin, Dayton

Killian Tillie, Gonzaga

Jalen Smith, Maryland

Xavier Tillman, Michigan State

Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

John Mooney, Notre Dame

Hasahn French, Saint Louis

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email