BYU and Mississippi State agree to football series in 2016 and 2017


ESPN’s Brett McMurphy announced Thursday via Twitter that BYU and Mississippi State have agreed to a home-and-home football series. The Bulldogs of the SEC will come to Provo in 2016 and will host the Cougars in 2017.

The news came only an hour following a McMurphy report that starting in 2016, games against Notre Dame, BYU and Army will fulfill the SEC requirement to play at least one non-conference Power Five team.

BYU currently has scheduled playing agreements with three SEC teams, including Missouri in 2015 and 2020, Mississippi State in 2016 and 2017, and LSU in 2017.

The ACC made a similar announcement in January, allowing games against BYU and Notre Dame to count towards the out-of-conference requirement starting in 2017.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email