BYU Law School’s many notable graduates


James W. Parkinson

James W. Parkinson graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1976. During his career, he worked on high-profile cases that garnered national attention, one such case being Ellis v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company (Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement). He also represented survivors of the Bataan Death March of 1942. Along with that he has also published a book and produced a documentary.

Steve Young

Steve Young, NFL Hall of Famer and Super Bowl MVP, graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1994. Young was the star quarterback for BYU. He played as a professional for the Los Angeles Express, Tampa Bay Buccaneers and San Francisco 49ers. He is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame as well as the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Steve Lund

Steve Lund, who graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1983, is currently serving as chairman of the board for Nu Skin. Since 1984 he has served in different positions at Nu Skin International and Nu Skin Asia Pacific. Before his career with Nu Skin he worked for a law firm that focused on litigation and products liability law.

Lew Cramer

Lew Cramer, a graduate of the J. Reuben Clark Law School Charter class, now serves as the president and CEO of World Trade Center Utah, a company working to enhance global business opportunities for firms in Utah. At the beginning of his career he practiced corporate law in Los Angeles as well as in the Bay Area.

Cramer served as a White House Fellow, a deputy assistant commerce secretary, the assistant secretary of commerce for international trade and as the director general of the U.S. Commercial Service.

Cheryl Preston

Cheryl Preston graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1979. She joined BYU as a faculty member in 1989. She is the recipient of the Edwin M. Thomas Professor of Law. She served as a law clerk to Monroe G. McKay, of the United States Court of Appeals. Before teaching at BYU she spent 10 years in private practice. Preston is an expert in Internet regulation and works with the Global Internet Governance Academic Network to fight Internet child pornography.

Hannah Clayson Smith

Hannah Clayson Smith is currently part of the senior counsel for The Becket Fund for Religious Liberty. The Becket Fund for Religious Liberty works to defend religious liberties for all faiths. Smith was former clerk for U.S. Supreme Court Justices Clarence Thomas and Samuel A. Alito Jr. She’s been featured on several news and talk shows including Fox News, “The O’Reilly Factor,” “The Sean Hannity Show,” and The Wall Street Journal. She graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 2001.

Keith Hamilton

Keith Hamilton, who graduated in 1986, was the first African American graduate of the J. Reuben Clark Law School. After graduation he was on active duty with the U.S. Navy’s Judge Advocate General’s (JAG) Corps. Hamilton also worked as a university administrator for BYU and the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He was a two-time member of Utah board of Pardons and Parole. From 2006 to 2007 he was the chairman for former Gov. Jon M. Huntsman Jr. He was the first African American cabinet member for the state of Utah.

Bruce Reese

Bruce Reese, CEO of Hubbard Radio, LLC., was a graduate of the J. Reuben Clark charter class in 1976. He is the former CEO of Bonneville International. He began working at Bonneville International in 1984 after working for law firms in Washington, D.C., and Denver.

Robert A. Johnson

Robert A. Johnson is currently the CEO of Deseret Mutual Benefit Administrators. Johnson graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1976. He is the former executive vice president of Bonneville International Corporation. After graduation, he clerked for Judge Ozell M. Trask, a judge of the United States Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. He then became a lawyer in private practice in Washington, D.C., and Salt Lake City.

Kirk Benson

Kirk Benson, who graduated in 1976, became the chairman and CEO of Headwaters Inc. in 1999. Before then he worked for Foundation Health Systems in various positions including that of senior vice president. He holds a Juris Doctorate from BYU as well as master’s degrees in accountancy and laws in taxation.

Mike Lee

Mike Lee was elected to the U.S. Senate from Utah in 2010 and is one of the most noted Republican senators in Washington. After graduating from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1997 he served as a law clerk for U.S. District Court Judge Dee Benson and then U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Samuel A. Alito.

John Valentine

John Valentine graduated from the J. Reuben Clark Law School in 1976. He served as president of the Utah State Senate from 2005 to 2008. He is currently serving as a senator for District 14 of Utah.

Kevin J. Worthen

Kevin Worthen is the current Advancement Vice President of BYU, with responsibilities university relations and communications. He clerked for Associate Supreme Court Justice Byron R. White and served as dean of the J. Reuben Clark Law School from 2004 to 2008. He graduated summa cum laude from the law school in 1982.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email