Chemistry professor named Distinguished Faculty Lecturer


    Juliana Boerio-Goates, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was named this year’s Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, Brigham Young University’s most prestigious faculty honor, at the annual University Conference on Tuesday, Aug. 23.

    Boerio-Goates will deliver her lecture during a forum assembly on Feb. 14, 2006, in the Marriott Center.

    She has been recognized internationally for her work in the measurement of thermodynamic properties, and has also served as associate dean of General and Honors Education and director of the Center for Chemical Thermodynamics.

    Other who were honored during the University Conference included Lori L. Seely, assistant dean in the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences, who received the Ben E. Lewis Management Award, and Earl E. Albee, animal care facilities manager at the university’s agricultural station, was given the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award, top honors for administrative and staff members.

    Other faculty and staff members honored included:

    Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Awards: David J. Comer, electrical and computer engineering; Kristine Hansen, English; and Kelly D. Patterson, political science.

    Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Awards: John E. Clark, anthropology; Larry L. Howell, mechanical engineering; and Michael A. Jensen, electrical and computer engineering.

    Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award: Diane Chamberlain, exercise science.

    Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorships: Daniel J. Fairbanks, plant and animal sciences, and Harold L. Miller, psychology.

    Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award: Gary M. Burlingame, psychology.

    Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education: Morris J. Robins, chemistry and biochemistry.

    Alumni Professorship Award: Richard H. Jackson, geography.

    Phi Kappa Phi Award: Michael F. Whiting, integrative biology.

    Part-Time Faculty Excellence Award: Norah T. Hunter, plant and animal sciences.

    David O. McKay Fellowships: Susan C. Hill, health sciences, and Richard R. Sudweeks, instructional psychology and technology.

    Eliza R. Snow Fellowship: William A. Barrett, computer science.

    John A. Widtsoe Fellowships: Stephen J. Bahr, sociology, and Barry M. Willardson, chemistry and biochemistry.

    Alcuin Fellows: Ralph B. Brown, sociology; Paul F. Eastman, mechanical engineering; Valerie Hegstrom, Spanish and Portuguese; Richard N. Holzapfel, Church history and doctrine; Steven E. Jones, physics and astronomy; C. Riley Nelson, integrative biology; David E. Spencer, economics; Larry V. Shumway, humanities, classics and comparative literature; and Brian F. Woodfield, chemistry and biochemistry.

    Young Scholar Awards: James C. Brau, business management; William F. Christensen, economics; Wade A. Jacoby, political science; and Paul E. Kerry, history.

    Creative Works Awards: Howard B. Christensen and Patti B. Collings, statistics.

    The Sponsored Research Recognition Award was presented to Joel Janetski, anthropology. The Technology Transfer Award was given to Paul Savage, chemistry and biochemistry.

    In addition, the President’s Appreciation Awards were given to the following: Administrative — Lynn Astle, technology transfer; Rulon J. Barlow, student health services; Brenda Butterfield, fine arts and communications; Scott R. Greenhalgh, counseling and career development; R. Dwight Laws, independent study; Mark A. Philbrick, university communications; Staff awards — Dianne T. King, continuing education; Nancy J. Bailey, technology transfer; Ruth Ann Hay, Lee Library; Phyllis A. Daniel, linguistics; Alan R. Ewell, physical plant; and Kathleen Pierce, audiology and speech pathology.

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email