Hickman scholar to lecture



    Addie Fuhriman, dean of graduate studies and professor of psychology at BYU, has earned the title of this year’s Martin B. Hickman Outstanding Scholar.

    The Hickman Outstanding Scholar award has been given by the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences to faculty members from the college for five years. The award was named after Martin B. Hickman, who was a dean of the college.

    “Martin was a remarkable man who did remarkable work for the college and BYU. Work was never directed at advancing his own career, but work was done for the good of the church, the university and his faculty and associates,” said Clayne L. Pope, dean of the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences.

    “The award is meant to recognize a distinguished member of the college faculty who emulates Martin’s example,” Pope said.

    Fuhriman is a licensed psychologist and has served as president of the Utah Psychological Board and president of the Association of the Mormon Counselors and Psychotherapists. She has been at BYU for almost six years.

    “Her teaching and research efforts have focused on the training of professional psychologist and group therapists, on understanding the dynamics of small groups and on identifying the therapeutic components of the group’s process,” Pope said.

    Fuhriman was announced as this year’s Outstanding Scholar at last year’s Hickman lecture. She will present her lecture Thursday at 7 p.m. in 1170 Talmage Building. The title of her lecture is “Pathways to Sustainable Growth: An Interpersonal Context.”

    “I will be comparing the processes involved in group psychotherapy to those used in international development,” Fuhriman said.

    In this examination she will discuss what happens in group therapy that is related to people having better social and emotional health.

    “I am overwhelmed by the award. I’m really appreciative,” Fuhriman said.

    Lori Seely, of the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences, is coordinating Thursday’s lecture. “The recipient is selected based on outstanding work in the areas of research, citizenship and teaching,” Seely said.

    Each department in the college submits a nomination for the award and the final decision is made by the college awards committee. Anyone who has been a full-time faculty member of the college for at least five years prior to the nomination is eligible. The outstanding scholar receives a cash award along with the opportunity to deliver the college lecture.

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email